IT Governance Council

Information technology is an integral part of SDSU, including classroom instruction, research activities, and every day business functions. IT decisions can vastly enable or hinder campus units (business and academic), and in a limited budget environment it is more important than ever that our technology enhance our capacity to do more, recognizing that tradeoffs often exist among competing demands in pursuit of our core educational mission.

For these reasons, IT priorities are set in partnership with campus constituents and stakeholders in concert with SDSU’s commitment to shared governance. The IT Governance Council Steering Committee and Working Group is the collective group responsible for moving our institution in this progressive direction.

IT Governance Council Structure


Adela de la Torre

Executive Committee

Vice Presidents and Chief of Staff

Steering Committee

  • Jerry Sheehan (Chair), Vice President of Information Technology and Chief Information Officer, Information Technology
  • Brittany Santos-Dereig (Co-Chair), Chief of Staff
  • Matt Brown, Director of Information Technology, Research and Innovation
  • Monica Casper, Dean, College of Arts and Letters, Academic Affairs
  • David Ely, Associate Dean, Fowler College of Business, Academic Affairs
  • Mark Figueroa, Director, Library Technologies & Facilities; Interim Director, Web Services & Infrastructure, Academic Affairs / Information Technology
  • Ricardo Fitipaldi, Chief Information Security Officer, Information Technology
  • Adrian Gonzalez, IT Consultant, SDSU Imperial Valley, Academic Affairs
  • Rick Gulizia, Assistant Vice President, Research Support Services, Research and Innovation
  • Robert Nathan Kelly, Director of IT KPBS
  • Crystal Little, Interim Associate Vice President for Financial Operations, Business and Financial Affairs
  • Rachel Raynoha, Associate Executive Director, SDSU Research Foundation, Research and Innovation
  • Jessica Rentto, Associate Vice President, Administration, Business and Financial Affairs
  • Giuseppe Aiello, Associated Students
  • Amy Walling, AVP of Operations, Information Technology, Planned Giving, University Relations and Development
  • Wil Weston, Librarian, Library Administration

Upcoming Meetings

  • October 12, 2022
  • November 9, 2022
  • December 14, 2022
  • January 11, 2023
  • February 8, 2023
  • March 8, 2023
  • April 12, 2023
  • May 10, 2023
  • June 14, 2023

Summaries from Past Meetings

Questions or Suggestions

If you have questions or suggestions regarding the IT Governance Council, please email [email protected].